CLASS :-12th, SUB :-POL SCI

(NOTES)

CHAPTER---4

DATE:- 24/05/2020

• ASEAN: Association of south east Asian nations to accelerate economic growth through social progress and cultural development.

• ASEAN WAY: An interaction that is informal non - confrontationists and cooperative to promote supernational structures.

• ASEAN REGIONAL FORUM (ARF): An organisation established in 1994 to promote coordination of security and foreign policy.

• SPECIAL ECONOMIC ZONES (SEZS): Foreign investors could set up their own enterprises in these zones.

• OPEN DOOR POLICY: To invite investment of capital and technology from abroad.

 THREE PILLARS OF ASEAN COMMUNITY: ASEAN security community, ASEAN economic community, ASEAN socio - cultural community.

TIME LINE

• APRIL 1951: Six west European countries, France, west germany, Italy, Belgium, the netherlands and Luxembourg sign the treaty of paris establishing the European coal and steel community (ECSC)

• MARCH 25, 1957: These six countries sign the treaties of Rome establishing the European economic community (EEC) and the European atomic emergy community (EURATOM).

• JANUARY 1973: Denmark, Ireland and united kingdom join the European community.

• JUNE 1979: First direct elections to the European parliament.

- JANUARY 1981: Greece joins the EC.
- JUNE 1985: The schengen Agreement abolishes border controls among the EC numbers.
- JANUARY 1986: Spain and portugal join the EC
- OCTOBER 1990: Unification of germany.
- FEBRUARY 7, 1992: Treaty of Maastricht was signed establishing the European union.

• JANUARY 1993: The single market was created.

• JANUARY 1995: Austria finland and sweden join the EU.

• JANUARY 2002: Euro, the new currency was introduced in the 12 EU members.

• May 2004: Ten new members cyprus, the czech Republic estonia, Hungary, Latvia Lithuania Malta, poland, slovekia and slovania join the EU.

• JANUARY 2007: Bulgaria and Romania join the EU. Slovenia adopts the EURO.